top of page

What to wear for your Day In The Life family photography session?


Short Answer: Whatever you want!


Yup, that’s one of the benefits of documentary photography sessions over traditional or lifestyle portraits. Seriously, spend the day in your PJ’s if that’s what you normally do!


If you do decide to get out of your jammies, chose something that’s comfortable and practical.  If you’re normally a ‘leggings and Mum-bun’ girl, then rock it! The general idea of documentary photography is to portray an accurate representation of people and their environment, so dressing up for the session is not necessary. It also takes the stress out of getting ready.


Four young girls playing dress up. Lazy Sunday Photography.

Day in the Life documentary family sessions tell the story of your daily life at this point in time. They are unposed and focus on your typical home life. This means - get up and get dressed in whatever you would normal wear and what makes you feel comfortable.


Please don't spend extra time doing your hair and makeup if you normal don't do that every day. And PLEASE don't dress the whole family in matching clothes - you don't really go about dressed like that, do you?


...though who am I to speak. This is how my Mum dressed my sister and I throught our entire childhood. Cute, right?!

Girls dressed in matching clothes in the 80's. Lazy Sunday Photography.


I know how hard it can be to get ready with kids, so even if you are in your pj's when I arrive, this is totally fine, and in fact, I encourage it. I'm serious about this! It’s how you’d normally be first thing in the morning, right?  You can be getting ready for a typical day whilst I'm there – applying your makeup, doing the kids’ hair, brushing your teeth - and I’ll capture it. What great photos it will make!


Your images will be very different to other families and that is a good thing. This is what sets my style of photography apart from others.


(One thing I do want to note is thin stripes or very tight small patterns do not work for cameras. It creates something called the moiré effect which means it results in strange wavy patterns on the final image which is not pleasing to the eye.)


Girl playing dress up in spaceman costume. Lazy Sunday Photography.

Let kids be kids.

More importantly: let your kids dress themselves! If they are anything like mine, they change outfits multiple times a day, anyway, and it’s hilarious to see the layers and combinations they come up with.


Me.

And from my end, I will show up in comfy clothes and take my shoes off. This way I’ll be able to crawl on floors, lay in the grass, or climb on top of furniture while taking pictures.

If you have any comments, please leave them below. If think a Day in the Life session is just what you've been looking for, I would love to chat with you! Please reach out via the form below or via my website.


xx

Comments


Lisa-Buchanan-Lazy-Sunday-Photography-Da

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Lisa and am the face behind Lazy Sunday Photography.  I'm a Day-in-the-Life Documentary Family Photographer located in Canberra, ACT.

 

But even more than that, I'm a Storyteller. Girl Mum. Rock music obsessed. Adventurer.

 

My clients are laid-back and seeking authenticity and truthfulness in the way their stories are told.

This blog is a collection of my thoughts, client stories and helpful tips and resources.

Get my latest posts straight to your inbox!

Thanks for subscribing!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page